Office: 847.251.1186 | Cell: 312.961.4228 | Fax: 847.251.1631
3113 Cranston Court
Wilmette, IL 60091

Fully Insured, Licensed, Certified, Bonded and Trusted
jimkolke@pinnaclepropertyinspection.com
My Blog    
Have me call you

Have me call you.

Reviews

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read some of our other Reviews

 

Certifications

Certified by the International Association of Certified Home Inspectors - Click here to verify.
NACHI Member #09120708


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.


Pinnacle is infrared certified


moveincertifiedMoveInCertified-GreenCertified


A Chicago Certified Home Inspector covering Cook County, Will County, Kane County, Dupage County and many more


Chicago area Certified Home Inspector covering mold detection - IAC2 Mold Certified

What to Expect at a Pinnacle Home Inspection
Home | Our Services | Thermal Imaging | Mold Inspection | Radon Inspection | Sample Report | FAQs | The Process

Here is just a sample of some of the reviews we have received.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/079/genMid.08834079_5.jpg

$455K House Buyer (Did Not Close) Aug 28, 2015

WINNETKA, IL [Crow Island]

Extremely detailed. Will find something wrong with anything, but that's what you pay these guys for. Very thoughtful approach to his craft.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/823/genMid.08975823_1.jpg

$399K Condo Buyer (Closed) Aug 26, 2015

CHICAGO, IL [Northwest Side]

Very thorough, easy to schedule and worked quickly.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/097/genMid.08934097_4.jpg

$474K Condo Buyer (Closed) Jul 31, 2015

CHICAGO, IL [Edgewater]

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/587/genMid.08887587_1.jpg

$850K House Buyer (Closed) Jul 16, 2015

ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL 60004

Jim does a great job of informing you with what you need to know when making one of the biggest decisions in your life. He is thorough and very focused on the details. He takes the time to explain the details and leaves an open line for questions even beyond the inspection. He made no excuses to jump on my roof and inspect it, which most inspectors try to dodge around. We felt so much more confident going into this purchase armed with Jim's perspective.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/601/genMid.08916601_1.jpg

$814K House Buyer (Closed) Jul 2, 2015

ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL 60005

Jim is a builder who also does inspections. We were very pleased with the thoroughness of the inspection and his knowledge of the different systems within the house.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/248/genMid.08884248_0.jpg

$345K House Buyer (Closed) Jul 1, 2015

WILMETTE, IL [Gross Point]

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/644/genMid.08864644_0.jpg

$875K Condo Buyer (Closed) Jun 9, 2015

CHICAGO, IL [Near North Side]

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/413/genMid.08859413_1.jpg

$443K Condo Buyer (Did Not Close) Jun 1, 2015

CHICAGO, IL [Humboldt Park]

$485K Condo Buyer (Did Not Close) May 22, 2015

NORTHBROOK, IL 60062

If you're looking for someone to inspect with extraordinary attention to detail - your search ends with Jim.
I was extremely satisfied, would use/recommend his services without a second thought.

$485K Condo Buyer (Did Not Close) May 22, 2015

NORTHBROOK, IL 60062

We got another incredibly detailed inspection from Jim!
We were delayed for our appointment which left Jim with lesser time than planned. If someone looked at the report afterwards - they wouldn't have known.
Jim's a busy inspector, we couldn't get on his schedule again.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/399/genMid.08831399_0.jpg

$260K Condo Buyer (Closed) May 21, 2015

CHICAGO, IL [Roscoe Village]

The thermal inspection is great. We used them for two different condos, they also inspected the roof and insulation in great care.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/system_files/images/84/484/853484_397_0.jpg

 

$310K Condo Buyer (Closed) Mar 6, 2015

Chicago, IL [Bucktown]

Jim was incredibly thorough in his inspection and responsive to my follow-up questions. He helped identify a lot of critical items that we worked to resolve.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/029/genMid.08720029_1.jpg

$847K House Buyer (Closed) Feb 27, 2015

HIGHLAND PARK, IL [Downtown (Highland Park, IL)]

Jim was wonderful to work with and was very through.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/880/genMid.08811880_1.jpg

$400K Townhouse Buyer (Did Not Close) Feb 26, 2015

CHICAGO, IL [Humboldt Park]

Thorough inspection, honest recommendations, and a highly knowledgeable and professional. Such a pleasure to work with. Even though we didn't end up with the property, we walked away knowing that we were saving ourselves in the future thanks to Jim's wealth of experience and suggestions.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/577/genMid.08809577_0.jpg

$273K Condo Buyer (Closed) Feb 19, 2015

CHICAGO, IL [Humboldt Park]

We have never seen anyone as thorough as Jim. He is extremely efficient and knowledgeable in his craft. We would definitely hire him again.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/343/genMid.08774343_0.jpg

$765K House Buyer (Closed) Feb 4, 2015

Chicago, IL [West Town]

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/956/genMid.08740956_0.jpg

$525K House Buyer (Closed) Jan 30, 2015

NORTHBROOK, IL [North Northfield]

If there had been bad memories in the house, Jim would have found those too. The man knows his work.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/494/genMid.08741494_0.jpg

$890K Multi-Family (2-4 Unit) Buyer (Closed) Jan 30, 2015

CHICAGO, IL [West Town]

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/259/genMid.08770259_0.jpg

$343K House Buyer (Closed) Jan 27, 2015

CHICAGO, IL [Portage Park]

We used other inspectors because we looked at houses in several different locations. Jim was far and away the most thorough and knowledgeable. His findings and recommendations uncovered some latent issues that I'm certain others would've missed. In the end, what Jim found caused us to cancel one transaction, but it resulted in us later finding the home of our dreams.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/205/genMid.08670205_0.jpg

$338K House Buyer (Closed) Jan 13, 2015

DES PLAINES, IL [Lee]

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/432/genMid.08681432_1.jpg

$708K House Buyer (Closed) Jan 6, 2015

WINNETKA, IL [Crow Island]

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/687/genMid.08769687_1.jpg

$289K House Buyer (Closed) Dec 29, 2014

SKOKIE, IL [Northeast Skokie]

Extremely professional and well informed.

$595K Multi-Family (2-4 Unit) Buyer (Did Not Close) Dec 22, 2014

Chicago, IL [Logan Square]

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/042/genMid.08757042_0.jpg

$925K House Buyer (Closed) Dec 22, 2014

GLENVIEW, IL 60026

Jim is amazingly knowledgeable and hard working. A great person to have inspecting your home. He is extremely detailed oriented and takes the time to explain everything to you. He is loyal to his clients. No other home inspector can come close.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/032/genMid.08705032_0.jpg

$340K Multi-Family (2-4 Unit) Buyer (Closed) Dec 22, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [Irving Park]

We used Jim for a second time after he saved us from buying a horrible property. He is incredibly knowledgeable, really an expert in his field. Jim is very thorough and will look at every tiny issue.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/838/genMid.08754838_0.jpg

$326K Condo Buyer (Closed) Dec 3, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [Uptown]

This is the second time I have called on Jim for a property inspection. His goal is to provide information on everything that might need attention so that his customer can make an informed decision. He is very thorough and, though more expensive than average, is an example of getting what you pay for.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/803/genMid.08673803_1.jpg

$425K House Buyer (Closed) Nov 17, 2014

LISLE, IL 60532

Joe was extremely knowledgeable and did not leave a stone unturned. Every possible problem with our property was identified. Unfortunately though, he did not want to answer our questions due to his fear that we would hold him liable for his answers, and the inspection left us overwhelmed and confused, with a 200+ page report in which we did not know what the items meant. Being first time home buyers, we did not know what was a "normal" house problem and what was not. Luckily our realtor was able to walk us through it.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/216/genMid.08657216_1.jpg

$815K House Buyer (Closed) Nov 13, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [Edison Park]

Jim is one of the best in the business. He really knows what he his doing and loves doing it. He is one of the most thorough inspectors I have seen and he explains everything to you in a no-nonsense and easy to understand manner. If you anticipate there will be issues, particularly with an older home, then I would highly recommend using Jim. It will be money well spent.

$524K Condo Buyer (Closed) Nov 5, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [West Town]

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/224/genMid.08633224_0.jpg

 

$613K House Buyer (Closed) Oct 15, 2014

ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL 60004

Prompt, highly professional and a true expert in the field. The inspection is one of the hard parts, where you pay someone to tell you everything wrong with "The One", but Jim provides insight and depth of explaining what he was finding and why. Jim and Pinnacle are who I would go to for any inspection needs.

$334K Multi-Family (2-4 Unit) Buyer (Did Not Close) Sep 29, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [Albany Park]

Jim is incredible and we would absolutely recommend him to anyone looking for a dependable inspector!

 

$296K House Buyer (Closed) Sep 29, 2014

Chicago, IL [Montclare]

 

$805K House Buyer (Did Not Close) Sep 25, 2014

EVANSTON, IL [Ridge]

Jim is incredibly knowledgeable and great to work with. His inspections are extremely thorough and he explains all the issues in a clear and easy to understand manner. A true no-nonsense type of person that cuts to the chase and gives you the bottom line. If you are looking for a thorough and complete assessment of the condition of a house there is probably no one better than Jim. From what I understand he is highly sought after and can be difficult to book for that reason. I suggest contacting him as early as possible once you need an inspection to secure a time slot.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/936/genMid.08682936_0.jpg

$343K House Buyer (Did Not Close) Sep 11, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [Portage Park]

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/674/genMid.08653674_B.jpg

$470K House Buyer (Did Not Close) Aug 29, 2014

LA GRANGE, IL 60525

Jim and his team are absolutely fantastic. It's clear Jim loves what he does and that he does it very well. When the contract for our first home fell through, I made sure that Jim would be available to inspect our second. His team is highly reliable and extremely thorough. Our inspection report was over 150 pages of very detailed explanations (with photos) of each deficiency and area of concern -- he also gives an opinion of what is important and what is not. A terrific guide not just for purposes of addressing issues with a seller, but also for home maintenance after closing. Could not recommend Jim more highly.

$2.5M House Buyer (Closed) Aug 28, 2014

LAKE FOREST, IL 60045

Jim & his team were very responsive and very knowledgeable. They performed a very comprehensive and thorough inspection and the report they provided was excellent.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/560/genMid.08590560_0.jpg

$450K Condo Buyer (Closed) Aug 25, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [Wrigleyville / Lakeview]

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/620/genMid.08663620_1.jpg

 

$1.2M House Buyer (Closed) Jul 21, 2014

BANNOCKBURN, IL 60015

I have never been presented with a more thorough and detailed report. It was extremely useful in determining what I needed to address immediately vs. what I could put on the list to fix later.

 

$245K Condo Buyer (Closed) Jul 1, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [Uptown]

Jim was extremely detailed during the inspection and answered all questions we had. After his inspection, we had complete confidence in purchasing our home. Thanks Jim!

 

$475K Townhouse Buyer (Closed) Jun 30, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [West Town]

Jim definitely knows his stuff. He provided us with an extremely thorough inspection, leaving us with no doubt about what was right (and wrong) with the condo we purchased. We would definitely recommend him to others.

 

$595K House Buyer (Closed) Jun 27, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [Humboldt Park]

 

$475K Condo Buyer (Closed) Jun 18, 2014

CHICAGO, IL 60618

Jim & his team were fabulous when it came to the home inspection. Not only did they arrive early and very thorough, they were also very open to walking us through any items they discovered during the inspection process and very good at teaching us what to look for in the future. Upon leaving, Jim's team provided a detailed report with a few hours that included pictures and thermal images of both the inside and outside of our condo. Jim & team were one of the best choices we made during our buying process!

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/985/genMid.08573985_0.jpg

$325K House Buyer (Closed) Jun 16, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [West Rogers Park / West Ridge]

Jim was incredibly thorough. His reports included pictures and were very easy to understand. Highly recommended!

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/698/genMid.08568698_0.jpg

$342K House Buyer (Did Not Close) May 27, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [Jefferson Park]

The most thorough, accessible inspector we worked with (we hired others before him on other properties). If you want to know EVERYTHING about a property, I'd highly recommend Jim. A good guy.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/994/genMid.08535994_2.jpg

$691K House Buyer (Closed) May 20, 2014

EVANSTON, IL [Central Street]

Jim did an awesome job! He was very down to earth and very thorough in his inspection. The home that I purchased was completely rehabbed and some areas were dry walled and repainted. Jim used thermal imaging to allow me to see if there were any areas where moisture might be a concern. 

He also recommended that I have the sewer line camera scoped and I am very glad that I did. The house had been vacant for over 6 months and when the technician ran the scope we were able to see standing water about a foot below the surface area. Jim was spot on with his assessment and what he thought we might find. 

His report was quite lengthy and he took over 200 pictures during the inspection. With Jim's service I now feel that I have thorough knowledge of my new home and a very good understanding of the things that I need to do maintain it in tip top shape. I HIGHLY recommend Jim Kolke for any home inspection needs.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/106/genMid.08537106_6.jpg

$623K House Buyer (Closed) May 14, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [North Center]

Jim and team tore the place apart (in a good way) and I am confident they found EVERYTHING. Just what I was hoping for in an inspection service team.

 

$327K Condo Buyer (Closed) May 1, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [Lincoln Park / DePaul]

Without question, Jim is the best. He has a very high attention to detail, extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The combination of his pricing and services are unbeatable. I would not use anyone else but Jim!

 

$620K House Buyer (Closed) Feb 28, 2014

VERNON HILLS, IL [North Vernon Hills]

Jim was great! He taught us a TON about our new home and was patient w/ us the whole way. He provided us w/ so much info -- both the PC answers as well as the realistic/upfront answers. His services are pricey in comparison to other inspectors; the inspection report w/ pics is very detailed, and to us, it honestly gave us peace of mind knowing that someone had looked thru every inch of the place w/ a highly educated eye. The only unfortunate circumstance was the season; due to cold temps and snow covering 90% of the outside grounds and roof, we were not able to get an actual inspection on much of our driveway, roof, sidewalk, backyard, or AC unit. I understand there is nothing the inspector can do in this sense (actually, Jim even got on the snowy roof where he could walk!), but it might be appropriate to not charge the same price when a full inspection is not possible due to weather-related issues. Otherwise, Jim was wonderful, and his company was ridiculously easy to work with!

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/system_files/images/07/807/548807_304_0.jpg

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/146/genMid.08432146_3.jpg

$420K Condo Buyer (Closed) Feb 21, 2014

Chicago, IL [Near North Side]

Jim and Pinnacle were outstanding. They were very thorough, are happy to walk you through all items they are inspecting, and explain issues found. They provide their incredibly thorough report complete with commentary, pictures, and summary within just a couple hours of the inspection.

$435K House Buyer (Closed) Jan 31, 2014

GLENVIEW, IL 60025

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/992/genMid.08465992_3.jpg

$875K House Buyer (Closed) Jan 30, 2014

RIVERWOODS, IL 60015

The most in depth home inspection I could have ever imagined. He did great work.

 

$275K Condo Buyer (Closed) Jan 21, 2014

CHICAGO, IL [Uptown]

This was our second home inspection with Jim and he was just as awesome as the first inspection. Definitely worth getting on his schedule.

 

$220K Condo Buyer (Did Not Close) Dec 30, 2013

CHICAGO, IL [North Center]

Jim is an amazing home inspector and absolutely the right person for us to have at our first home inspection. He talked us through every part of the process and made sure we understood everything as we went along. I don't think there's anyone who could be more thorough than he was. We actually decided to not purchase the home on the basis of his inspection, but in that experience we learned a lot about what to look for as we continue our search. Moreover, we'll be calling him up again when we do find the right place for us. HIGHLY recommend.

 

$650K House Buyer (Closed) Dec 27, 2013

WILMETTE, IL [Gross Point]

While not the cheapest home inspection service around, we believe that Jim Kolke is the BEST and you do get great value for the money. We could not believe how detailed Jim and his team were in their inspection. They went on the roof in the snow to check the shingles! They swept snow off the driveway and walks to check their condition! They found several issues that ended up saving us thousands since we were able to negotiate repair credits with the sellers. 

Thanks Jim!

 

$503K House Buyer (Closed) Dec 17, 2013

DEERFIELD, IL 60015

Jim does a very complete inspection. However, he told us he couldn't get the fireplace working, but he just didn't know how to work this particular one and told us the basement epoxy injections were done wrong, when in reality they were termite treatments. He did find a major electrical issue and other items which helped us to negotiate an appropriate settlement with the seller. I don't know that any inspector is going to be as knowledgeable as Jim.

 

$828K House Buyer (Closed) Dec 16, 2013

LAKE FOREST, IL 60045

Jim was extremely thorough and I really trusted his judgement and advice. Not only was he early, but he patiently answered any and all questions I had.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/171/genMid.08474171_3.jpg

$245K House Buyer (Did Not Close) Dec 6, 2013

WOODRIDGE, IL 60517

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/815/genMid.08435815_0.jpg

$870K House Buyer (Closed) Nov 25, 2013

CHICAGO, IL [Kenwood]

Jim did a very thorough inspection.

$401K House Buyer (Closed) Nov 22, 2013

CHICAGO, IL [Portage Park]

Jim was very thorough and was willing to show us some of the things he found and explained why they might be an issue later. I felt that I knew more about the house I was considering to buy. I would recommend his inspection services to anyone

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/028/genMid.08357028_2.jpg

$259K House Buyer (Closed) Oct 21, 2013

CHICAGO, IL [Cragin]

Jim was great. Very friendly, polite and did a very thorough job. I almost closed on another house before this one, but after the inspection, realized it would not work for me. I hired Jim again for the house I did close and was extremely happy with his service. I highly recommend Jim for any inspection. I also think he should have his own show in DIY Network.

 

$373K House Buyer (Closed) Oct 1, 2013

Chicago, IL [Roscoe Village]

Very thorough and knowledgeable. If you want to be sure your new place has good bones, call Jim

 

$515K House Buyer (Did Not Close) Sep 26, 2013

WILMETTE, IL [Gross Point]

Jim is very through and extremely knowledgeable. You get your report electronically the same day. For our particular inspection he brought a second inspector with him and they arrived early to look at the exterior of the home. They spend over 3 hours on the property (approx. 2,000 sq. ft.) They acted professionally, asking the sellers Realtor if they could move items out of the way, putting things back, etc. He also offers a discount for returning customers.

 

$950K House Buyer (Did Not Close) Aug 27, 2013

CHICAGO, IL [Kenwood]

Jim did a very thorough inspection.

 

$970K House Buyer (Closed) Aug 27, 2013

NORTHBROOK, IL [Mission Hills]

Very professional and helpful during the inspection and gave us a lot of excellent advice on the report and maintenance.

 

$390K Townhouse Buyer (Closed) Aug 21, 2013

CHICAGO, IL [West Town]

Jim was amazing! He takes pictures of everything, tests everything, AND explains why those things are important. He is like Holmes on Homes...seriously! He even arrived early to look around the building and after to have a look at the building’s rooftop. We went over some general maintenance for home owners too since we are first time home owners. He was done in about two hours and we had the finished report by that afternoon (talk about fast!)!!!

 

$1.3M House Buyer (Closed) Aug 9, 2013

WINNETKA, IL 60093

Jim is by far one of the best inspectors I have worked with. He is extremely diligent and thorough in his inspection and in his report. He saved us from buying a bad house, and now we are in the perfect home for us. I would recommend Jim to anyone, and he is the only inspector I will ever use in the future.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/353/genMid.08367353_0.jpg

$621K Condo Buyer (Closed) Aug 7, 2013

CHICAGO, IL [West Town]

Jim is really enthusiastic about what he does, and waits until you're out of questions before he leaves. I had a few questions after the inspection, and Jim responded promptly through email. He also cut $20 off my inspection because it took less time than he expected. Thanks!

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/667/genMid.08305667_0.jpg

$413K Townhouse Buyer (Closed) Aug 5, 2013

Buffalo Grove, IL 60089

Jim is a master home inspector. He thoroughly examined the home and identified defects which had to be fixed. His inspection was so thorough that even the builders mentioned, this is a good inspection. I absolutely recommend Jim for other home buyers looking for a home inspection.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/system_files/images/96/896/182896_751_0.jpg

 

 

$212K House Buyer (Closed) Aug 2, 2013

SKOKIE, IL [Fairview]

He definitely knows the job! He helped us twice for house inspection, and has been very professional.

 

$298K House Buyer (Closed) Aug 1, 2013

PALATINE, IL [Pleasant Hill]

This was our third inspection with Jim Kolke and Pinnacle Property Inspection. To say that Jim is thorough is a fantastic understatement. You come out of your inspection with an report that is essentially an owner's manual for your new home. There's not much that gets by Jim and his team, and we were happy to utilize his services on all three of our contracts as we looked for the perfect home for our family. Jim's services are in high demand, and it's not difficult to see why. He's definitely earned our trust and our business in the future.

$880K House Buyer (Closed) Jul 29, 2013

CHICAGO, IL [Wrigleyville / Lakeview]

Jim is an excellent inspector. He covers every inch of the property and basically creates a checklist for what needs to be done in the short and long term.

$480K Townhouse Buyer (Closed) Jul 1, 2013

GLENVIEW, IL 60025

 

$520K Townhouse Buyer (Closed) Jun 25, 2013

EVANSTON, IL 60202

Prompt, friendly, and incredibly careful- Jim was awesome. We learned a ton from our inspection and would highly recommend him!

 

$1.2M House Buyer (Closed) Jun 25, 2013

Wilmette, IL 60091

Jim has a reputation for being extremely thorough and that was certainly our experience. He was everywhere, including up on the roof, and even squeezing through a minuscule crawl space in the attic at one point. He also took comprehensive photos along the way. Anything that Jim brought to our attention he took the time to explain to us. 
For extra bonus points Jim managed to fit us in within our timeframe despite being incredibly busy and got our report over to us promptly.

 

$270K House Buyer (Did Not Close) May 31, 2013

MOUNT PROSPECT, IL 60056

This was our second of three inspection experiences with Jim Kolke and Pinnacle Property Inspection. To say that Jim is thorough is a fantastic understatement. You come out of your inspection with an inspection report that is essentially an owner's manual for your new home. There's not much that gets by Jim and his team, and we were happy to utilize his services on all three of our contracts as we looked for the perfect home for our family.

$360K House Buyer (Did Not Close) May 22, 2013

WINFIELD, IL 60190

Jim was very thorough on his inspection and spotted many "hidden flaws" with the thermal imaging. I've used home inspections in the past, but his report was one of the most detailed I've ever received.

 

$415K House Buyer (Closed) May 3, 2013

LINCOLNWOOD, IL 60712

Jim Kolke is an amazing home inspector. He is extremely thorough, knowledgeable and often encouraged the asking of questions to make sure we understood his explanations. His thermal imager is an indispensable piece of technology and actually located a leak (verified by two moisture meters) that would probably not have been found otherwise. The 100+ page inspection report was somehow unbelievably emailed to us within a couple of hours after the home inspection and is everything an information nut like me could ask for. It contains loads of details, with the most critically needed repairs in red text, as well as pictures (with arrows pointing to the deficiencies) to clarify his findings. Even weeks after the inspection, I am still using it as a quick reference guide because the information it provides is invaluable to the new home owner trying to make sure his house is in the best shape possible. I highly recommend Jim Kolke for all your home inspection needs.

$467K House Buyer (Closed) Apr 29, 2013

NAPERVILLE, IL 60540

This is the Bugatti of home inspectors. Expect relentless perfection.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/998/genMid.08281998_1.jpg

 

 

$308K House Buyer (Closed) Apr 26, 2013

HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL 60192

Jim did a great job during the inspection of our home. He used current and new technology that other inspectors in the area do not have access to. Very thorough with his inspection and findings.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/134/genMid.08210134_0.jpg

$575K Condo Buyer (Closed) Apr 26, 2013

CHICAGO, IL [Lincoln Park / DePaul]

Jim was very thorough and provided us with some excellent home care tips.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/583/genMid.08229583_0.jpg

 

$313K Condo Buyer (Closed) Mar 4, 2013

CHICAGO, IL [Edgewater]

My wife and I are first-time home buyers (and now home-owners) who were moving to the Chicago area from out of town and therefore unfamiliar with both Chicago as a city and its housing stock's quirks, and with the sort of things that home buyers ought to be looking out for during an inspection. Jim is one of those folks who seems to truly enjoy what he does, and he walked us through the inspection process step by step and explained everything he was looking at, especially when it came to items that we'd need to keep an eye on in the future (e.g., filters that would need replacing, furnace service that we should schedule in 1-2 years, etc.). He was also a total champ -- he spent 25 minutes on our icy roof in 15 degree weather so that he could dismantle our rooftop air conditioner to inspect the guts. I realize he's required to do this, but he did it with a smile when he could have been grumbling about it. Two other things stand out. First, Jim's inspection report arrived within hours of his leaving the apartment, and it detailed with dozens of photos every nook and cranny of the apartment. Second, at our request, Jim provided recommendations for painters and general contractors and personally vouched for them, which was extremely helpful as we're coming from out of town. Overall, we couldn't be happier with how the inspection went (it helps that we didn't find anything major), and I hope we get to work with Jim again in the future.

 

$250K Condo Buyer (Closed) Mar 1, 2013

Chicago, IL [West Town]

Jim was at the property way ahead of our scheduled time witch was great because it meant he had already gotten started checking the outside of the building by the time everyone else arrived. He was very friendly and knowledgeable and sent the report to the evening of the inspection.

 

$358K House Buyer (Closed) Mar 1, 2013

NAPERVILLE, IL [East Highlands]

Very thorough and took the time to explain what he was inspecting and his staff were very responsive, polite, and willing to help provide references when needed.

$1.8M House Buyer (Closed) Feb 25, 2013

HINSDALE, IL [Downtown (Hinsdale, IL)]

Jim was the most detailed and organized inspector I have ever seen. I would never use anybody else.

$295K House Buyer (Closed) Feb 5, 2013

LAKE ZURICH, IL 60047

When I first showed up for the inspection, Jim was on top of the roof inspecting every shingle (in winter)! He truly went through every square inch of the house and found items that I would have never thought about. I even completed radon testing through his services and I was sure glad I did - the house ended up having elevated Radon levels that were eventually mitigated by the Seller. I will never know for sure, but Jim probably saved my family from future health problems as I would have never even thought to have this tested. I have had home inspections on previous homes that I have purchased, but Jim's was by far the most thorough and easy to understand that I have ever seen (101 pages! WOW!) I would definitely recommend Jim Kolke at Pinnacle Property Inspection services to anyone out there who wants the most complete and thorough inspection that you can get!

 

$395K House Buyer (Closed) Jan 31, 2013

ELMHURST, IL [Elmhurst City Centre]

Jim did such a thorough inspection, we almost didn't buy the home. He properly inspected every inch of the house, even getting on the roof! Jim was very helpful pointing out all issues major or minor and answering all of my questions along the way.

 

 

$235K House Buyer (Closed) Jan 16, 2013

GRAYSLAKE, IL 60030

$405K House Buyer (Closed) Jan 11, 2013

EVANSTON, IL [Central Street]

Jim was incredibly thorough, and was an excellent resource as a home inspector.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/052/genMid.08213052_0.jpg

$317K Condo Buyer (Closed) Jan 7, 2013

CHICAGO, IL [West Town]

Absolutely wonderful. Very detail oriented and thorough. Showed up earlier then the appointed time and inspected every inch inside and out. Will definitely use him again.

$382K House Buyer (Did Not Close) Dec 28, 2012

NAPERVILLE, IL [High Meadow]

Jim proved to an excellent inspector as well as advisor for people like us who are first time home buyers. He not only showed us the things that we would never have noticed but gave us his expert advice which helped us decide where to put our money on! 
We would definitely recommend Jim to everyone here and also to our friends buying houses.

$2.2M House Buyer (Did Not Close) Dec 18, 2012

Palos Park, IL 60464

Very thorough inspection. Found $80,000 worth of damages on the inspection. I would definitely recommend Jim and 
Pinnacle to any perspective buyer.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/system_files/images/17/917/234917_146_1.jpg

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/772/genMid.08055772_3.jpg

$550K House Buyer (Closed) Dec 17, 2012

EVANSTON, IL [Central Street]

We cannot recommend Jim enough. He scheduled quickly, did the most thorough inspection, and followed up with the report the very same day. He was knowledgeable in all areas of the inspection and walked us through each and every step of it, even helping us to prioritize what was important immediately versus what could wait. He answered every question we had, spent a considerable amount of time at the property, and has a clear passion for what he does. We would definitely use Jim again and would recommend him to anyone purchasing a home.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/367/genMid.08171367_1.jpg

$285K House Buyer (Closed) Dec 6, 2012

MOUNT PROSPECT, IL [Westgate]

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/970/genMid.08176970_2.jpg

$441K House Buyer (Closed) Dec 4, 2012

INVERNESS, IL 60067

Mr. Kolke was very professional and helpful. His inspection report was accurate and detailed. We enjoyed working with him.

$325K House Buyer (Did Not Close) Nov 30, 2012

HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL 60192

Jim's thorough service and no-holds-barred feedback on our prospective home were very welcome. As first time homebuyers, we didn't know what to expect with our inspection, and Jim engaged us throughout the process and did not pull any punches, giving us the pros and cons on dozens of potential issues with the home. Although we didn't close on the house, we will definitely consider Jim for future inspections once we start our house hunt again in the spring.

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/590/genMid.08151590_0.jpg

$265K House Buyer (Closed) Nov 30, 2012

BUFFALO GROVE, IL 60089

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/751/genMid.08160751_0.jpg

$143K Condo Buyer (Closed) Nov 30, 2012

CHICAGO, IL [Albany Park]

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/913/genMid.08178913_0.jpg

$394K House Buyer (Closed) Nov 29, 2012

OAK PARK, IL [Frank Lloyd Wright Historic District]

https://ssl.cdn-redfin.com/photo/68/midphoto/891/genMid.08157891_0.jpg

$328K House Buyer (Did Not Close) Nov 20, 2012

GRAYSLAKE, IL 60030

Jim did a great job and found issues that we were not aware of. It was enough to change our mind and we have moved on to look further. Wherever we look, Jim will be inspecting the home

 

 

 
Join me on LinkedIn!
Follow me on Facebook
Pinnacle Blog
Check me out on Twitter